The development of tourism contributed English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There is no doubt that tourism is vital to the economic welfare of every nation. However, this is also causing English to become the most important language around the globe. A stratum of society believes that this is forcing English to become the only global language for communication. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this aspect. On the one hand, small and medium scale businesses will profit from adapting to learn this skill. This is because they would be able to communicate better with tourists and explain their products and services in-depth. For instance, a lot of souvenir shops are hiring employees who have good English speaking skills to attract more foreigners. Alternatively, if these businesses were not familiar with this international speech, they would not overcome this language barrier, leading to them losing a lot of international customers. On the other hand, one major downside is that local dialects and traditions are getting disappeared due to the global dominance of English. The reason for this is, a lot of youngsters do not see any advantage of learning their local speech and practices due to the influence of English in most industries and workplaces. One clear example of this is, many teenagers in India are preferring to learn English even before knowing their mother tongue. In contrast, if the development of the tourism industry had not caused English to dominate worldwide, local dialects and traditions would not have been endangered. In conclusion, although acquiring the understanding of English can benefit many businesses as this helps in serving tourists and foreigners, the drawback of this is the disappearance of local culture and traditions because of the fact that most teenagers are inclined to learn English as their first speech.