Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

With the popularity of smartphones among children, the debate on whether this can jeopardise children's mental and physical health has attracted many parents' concerns. From my perspective, this phenomenon is a double-edged sword, which on the one hand helps children to connect with the colourful world; on the other hand, exposes them too early to a world filled with emotions than reasons. Before analysing the pros and cons, we had better explore its causes first. From my experience, the strong feeling of loneliness brought by living in cities is a primary reason. In cities, people usually live in houses independent of each other, where intimate connections between people are hard to establish, especially true for children as they often have norrower circles than adults'. Take myself as an illustration, when I lived with my grandparents in a village, where I had many friends of the same age that we rejoiced in exploring fields and pretending to be a hero saving the world from attacks. Therefore, we seldom spent time on smartphones. However, when my family moved to a city, I suddenly realised that I did not even know the children in the same neighbourhood, which resulted in my indulgence in smartphones. Nevertheless, smartphones, as mentioned before, has some benefits for children. One of them is that it guides children to enter into a wonderful world at a negligible cost. Once there was an interview with a girl from isolated mountains, in which the girl told the journalist that smartphones enabled her to learn about oceans, deserts, and galaciers. She said it was unconceivable for her to witness these sceneries without smartphones as she could affort travel cost. In the light of this, smartphones does open a door for deprived children to the beautiful world. Nonetheless, the excessive usage of smartphones can do harm to children's health, for example, damaging their eyesight for watching screens for too long. To summarise, lacking social connections can stimulate children to be addicted in smartphones. This can damage their eyesight but it can also alleviate the feeling of loneliness and help children to leran more about the interesting world.