Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion

It is an undeniable fact that tourism has seen a tremendous surge in the last 5 decades. However, there are two predominant views where a section of society vehemently deems that tourists are destroying the environment and local beauty, while others emphasize that they are boosting the economy at a significant rate. My views are similar to the latter view. Apparently, various factors make a section of society deems that incoming tourism has detrimental effects on the environment and they have reasons to substantiate it. First and foremost is the garbage which is being produced maximally during the tourist season. It has been observed that visitors do not pay respect to the rules and regulations whenever they visit any place of attraction. In fact, tourists throw litter on roads and streets which creates a nuisance and a sense of irresponsibility among the local community. Consequently, that rubbish destroys the natural beauty of the area, and plastic and other harmful elements from garbage have a catastrophic effect on the surrounding habitat. An example can be observed from the Eiffel Tower in Paris where thousands and tonnes of garbage are literally ruining the utmost beauty of the tower. On the other hand, some believe that having tourists from all around the globe have a substantial contribution to society and they have myriads of reasons. Chiefly, it aids in the boosting of a country's economy due to the fact that people around the world will spend their money in order to visit tourist attractions in the country. Ultimately, funds spent on travelling, food and buying local delicacies will reap the benefits of the local community, and thus increase their economy at an astonishing rate. Countries such as Vietnam saw a significant rise in their economy in the last two decades when they finally opened all the doors for travel. In my profound opinion, I conclude that even though tourism might have a negative impact on the local people and the environment through the garbage which is being produced. Conversely, I am of the opinion that tourism will be extremely beneficial for a country to sprout because of the flow of cash it creates