Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial statements heating a debate over what should be concentrated on in the museums and art galleries. While many people suggest that they should focus purely on displaying works that represent the nation’s culture and history, others with contradicting views affirm that international works are also of great worth. Personally, I would contend that the former would potentially bring about more positive impacts. Doubtlessly, there are a wealth of reasons why some galleries may prioritize displaying their own country’s works. Because it is obvious to note that they could build a stronger sense of historical and personal identity. In fact, museums and art galleries house an eclectic mix of ancient and antique artefacts together with plagues consisting of full details on the surface. By observing these historical relics, visitors may have a deeper understanding of the harsh journeys that our forefathers went through in order to build a peaceful nation. Moreover, displaying models of aircraft, huge iron tanks, drapery soldiers' pieces of clothes and protective shields, which were used in wartime could arouse local visitor’s patriotism and promote their national pride. While the immense redeeming features of displaying national relics is widely acknowledged, adopting international masterpieces plays such a paramount imperative role. Applying works all around the world could not only diversify the content of museums and galleries but also meet the ever-increasing demand for educational values of current museum-goers. For instance, phenomenal paintings from Leonardo da Vinci or Picasso once displayed could draw a great appeal to visitors and broaden their horizons. By housing works from cross-bordered countries, visitors and history-lovers will have a more rounded multi-dimensional view over one event in specific or history in general. For example, Vietnamese wars would be portrayed more vividly so long as artefacts if rudimentary tools and complicated weapons of the colonists such as the American, the Japanese or the French at such time were displayed. In conclusion, the significance of national and cross-bordered works is equally recognized and balanced in order to preserve national cultural diversity and diversify the content of exhibitions.