Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the old buildings. While some claim that the government should apply discipline to protect these towers on the grounds that they are part of a country's history, the opposite makes a statement that these should be abolished in order to make room for new ones. While this is valid to some extent, I would contend that maintaining these old buildings is of significance, but this does not mean progress should stop. Undeniably, preserving certain old buildings play such a paramount significant role for several reasons. These old constructions not only symbolize the cultural identity of a nation but also remarkable art masterpieces. So that they contain a wealth of ancient patterns and structures that make this nation unique. When people look at these buildings, they can have a thorough understanding of art and the culture of the nation in the past. Hence, preserving these historical structures means people are protecting the existence of national culture in the fast-paced society. Moreover, visiting these places serve as an effective education because of provoking patriotism and promoting national pride in citizens. Not only this, but on a more practical level, a myriad of these buildings such as churches or temples provide lucrative income to a country as many tourists desire to see them broaden their horizons of a diversity of cultures as well. However, modernization should also be encouraged parallel with the protection of ancient buildings. For example, under many circumstances, historic buildings are being renovated whilst maintaining their original character and being used for modern purposes. Furthermore, when time flies, some structures could not preserve their inherent appearance even some of them are degraded in warning levels. These are caused not only by the impact of nature such as temperature, rain or flood but also by humans. So, renovation is in imperative demand to furnish these antique buildings. To sum up, old buildings are also given strong respect from humans due to the remarkable values that they bring about. For this reason, protecting and preserving these buildings can help people not only become more profound about history but also help to understand how to modernize the country in the best way.