These day it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to globalization and developments in science and technology, people can travel overseas to many countries and regions, however, along with the benefits and profits of tourism, it is also a potential threat to many cultures and the environment. This essay will discuss both views and will conclude whether the pros outweigh the cons. On the one hand, tourism has always been a crucial section of every country’s economy, alongside with benefits of expressing their national identity to the world. According to the Global Tourism Statistics, in 2019, all countries on average generated over $60 billion, this money can improve the living quality for many people, it also assures that the companies in charge of these tourism destinations have the money to protect and preserve it. In other words, global tourism has contributed a huge part to the development of countries around the world. Besides the profits, tourism can be the opportunity for foreigners to learn more about a country’s culture and way of living. To be more explicit, tourism can protect the minority’s ways of living, preventing it from forever being lost. On the other hand, from littering to the disappearance of natives, they are all the negative impacts of tourism. To cut down on the cost to run the tours, many companies use plastic products for the travellers, making the environment contaminated and inhospitable for the natives. To be more specific, structures can be damaged by littering and pollution, making the governments pay huge amounts of money to preserve and fixing these man-made structures. Additionally, with the contamination of water sources and the destruction of their habitat for tourism, many tribes have disappeared. In other words, many cultures have been lost due to this expansion of mass tourism. In conclusion, even though global tourism generates billions of dollars annually, the profits are not able to fix the consequences of itself which are pollution and losing many forms of culture of native tribes. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.