In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this

It has been pointed out that there is an increase in the demand for a new residence in many parts of the world, while the available spaces for constructing new houses are only in the countryside, and some individuals suggest that as the protection of villages is extremely vital, new homes cannot be built there. Personally, I completely agree with this idea as the countryside brings benefits to individuals and countries. First of all, having a trip to a village is beneficial to people's mental well-being. The reason is that as the environment in rural areas is tranquil and serene, travelling to the countryside provides people with a period of time to escape from their hectic lives. As a result, holiday-makers can immerse themselves in a peaceful atmosphere, enhancing mental health. For instance, most office-workers living and working in several modern cities say that having a road trip to a country offers an opportunity for them to relieve their working pressure. If a huge number of buildings are constructed there, they do not have a place to relax, which would raise their risks of suffering from anxiety and stress. Furthermore, preserving the countryside brings economic benefits to a nation. This is because the landscape of rural areas is splendid and breath-taking, which attracts a massive proportion of visitors living in urban areas to appreciate distinct lifestyles, thus resulting in local economic growth. By contrast, if the countryside is occupied by high-rise buildings, the number of visitors will decrease, so the local government will face an economic crisis. As an illustration, a significant percentage of residents living in Shanghai prefer to spend their spare time in Huai, which is a small regional village located in the north of Shanghai. If the authorities decide to convert this village into a city filled with tall apartment buildings to meet the demand for new houses, local tourism will be harmed, thus causing a local recession. In conclusion, although people vary in their opinion about whether the countryside should be protected instead of building houses or not, I am of the opinion that people should preserve these areas as it not only benefits individuals' mental health but also contributes to the local economic growth.