Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that as individuals become more reliant on mobile phones and computers, they are losing their capacity to interact face to face. While I agree that using these devices causes negative effects on our direct communication, I believe they are still an essential innovation in how we communicate. On the one hand, phone handsets and computers enhance the efficiency of transferring information. Alongside the development of the Internet, those instruments eliminate the distancing obstacles in communication by making it faster and easier. Mobile phones and computers nowadays allow us to make video calls or organize virtual meetings, which have interactions similar to face-to-face, to any person from anywhere in the world. On the other hand, we should consider the efficient arguments above from the opposite angle. Firstly, rather than having a person-to-person conversation, people might overuse other applications to express their opinions, such as emails or messages, to save time. Secondly, social media with many initiatives might create an assumption that sending messages or using emotional icons can replace direct conversation. However, communication without facial expressions and body gestures could lead to confusion and misunderstanding. The time spent on resolving those problems may outweigh the time for direct conversation. Moreover, communication is not an instinct, so we need to practice it regularly. In conclusion, I think the negative influences of mobile phones and computers on face-to-face communication are controllable. Therefore, we should figure out a way to minimize the downside effects while still utilizing the other functions of those portal devices.