Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, social media, especially Facebook has played a vital role in daily life of people across the world in order to communicating with others and receiving the daily information. However, it also has various disastrous effects on people and society including cyber crimes and waste of time. In my opinion, I absolutely agree that social network can be harmful to someones, who use it in an improper way and overuse it, which the drawbacks of it will be presented in the essay below. First of all, online social can lead to the cyber crimes. Because anyone can create their profile on Facebook without an official approval, they can create a trusted background, and a reliable profile as a doctor, or a businessman to defraud others. For example, according to the report from BCC news, many Thai girls were hoaxed to transfer a large amount of money to the one, who claimed themselve as a foreigner, want to have a Thai girlfriend to marry. Therefore, it is dangerous to have a relationship with a online friend via Facebook without knowing each other before. Secondly, nowadays people spend too much time on social media including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Based on a statistical research from a prestigious journal, they spend approximately 8 hours on their social network per day, which this huge amount of time can be used for useful activities such as exercising, learning English, or doing a housework. For instance, I set the rule to limit the smartphone use, which I reduce the duration from 6 hours a day to 3 hours a day. Instead, I spend the remaining time for exercising 1 hour, writting essay 1 hour, and watching online learning 1 hour. For this reason, the use of Facebook should be limited to improve the well-being of individuals. In conclusion, although the social application will facilitate how people communicate and update the information, Improper use can wreak havoc on society and citizens as it can contribute to cyber crimes and time waste so I strongly admit that the disadvantages of it outnumber the advantages.