Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Discuss advantages and disadvantages?

It is often argued that transferring to the regional areas in the suburban location would be better for the large organization and factory industry. This essay will first discuss that reducing initial cost and increasing of facilities extension are the main advantages, while far from the city centre and difficulty of employee’s travelling are the principal disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the benefits of moving outside the downtown is that can dwindle the company ’s cost and investment on the property, namely renting expense. That is to say, when the company changes their location to another area where it is not dense with a crowded population, the cost of the company ’s monthly payment will be cheaper due to less demand for the land. Moreover, the company will have more spaces which it can easily expand more facilities, compared to the limited areas inside the city centre. The gym or maternal room are exemplified of new convenient service, provided to enhance staff satisfaction by the company. As a result, all of these will assist the company to gain a competitive advantage over the competitors because they can bring this saving money to invest in other necessary assets instead, such as human resources, sales and advertisement, or internal systems and amenities. On the other hand, the obvious drawback is that it is not in a prime location and farther from its urbanization. This means that this factor is hard to attract talented people to work with us because the company do not situate in the central business district (CBD) where it gathers a lot of small and medium enterprises or large enterprises. In addition, it is inconvenient for employees to commute to their destination, which they may take more time to arrive in, even there is no traffic congestion. Thereby, this represents that the company will need to reschedule the working hours, leading to affect overall organization structure. In conclusion, although the company, leaving from locating inside the metropolis to the rural place, will receive some sound advantages, it also has the disadvantages as distancing and travelling.