In today’s world of advanced science and technology, many still greatly value artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can the arts tell us about life that science cannot?

Many people today continue to value the arts despite a growing emphasis on science and technology. In my opinion, this is because only the arts allow for self-expression and create fundamentally crucial and uplifting truths about humanity. The first reason the arts continue to be relevant relates to their capacity for self-expression. This is important not only for individuals but also for society at large. For individuals, the ability to express themselves is a crucial element of being fully human and having strong mental health. This explains the popularity of classes for painting, music, and dance as a means of relaxing and expressing one’s thoughts and feelings. In the aggregate, millions of people expressing their viewpoints leads to a plurality of perspectives that can enrich society. For instance, all the most revered periods of human history, such as the Renaissance, were defined by a flourishing of the arts. Secondly, art has the capacity to create value in a way that science cannot. Although science is capable of making tangible improvements in the lives of individuals, it is unable to impart meaning. In contrast, the arts are interpretations of the world that can uplift and enliven. For example, great filmmakers over the course of the 20th century have explored complex subject matter in classic films such as The Godfather, not only entertaining viewers but also presenting a vision and insightful understanding of American history. If the arts are extended to include the writings and teachings of religious leaders, it is easy to see their impact on values and morality. In conclusion, the arts still occupy a prominent position in society as they allow for individual self-expression and the creation of ideals. Therefore, it is important that governments continue to fund and support these seemingly less worthwhile pursuits.