More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology advancements in the last decades are strongly impacting the way people live, study and relate to others. Digitalization is a trend that has come to stay and its impacts can already been seen in many ways, including in the books and libraries business. People's choice for ebooks comes for many reasons. Firstly, one and only small device can carry a variety of books. It is mostly convenient since one's can take his entire personal library wherever it is needed. Moreover, ebooks have a reduced need of space to be guarded whereas books requires rooms, shelf shelfs and constant cleaning to remain in a good condition. In addition, ebooks cost 15% to 30% less then a paper book and that is a considerable saving especially for those more enthusiastics readers. Last but not least, ebooks are much more environmental friendly while paper books consume a great deal of trees and water in its fabrication process. Ebooks are more accessible to all so it diminishes libraries need. Therefore, this is a trend that is perceived as dangerous to libraries due to the profound way that it changes its business. In order to adapt, libraries would invest in technology rather than in biuldings building and people. There would be a need to concentrate their efforts in digitalize their entire collection and buy or develop the technology for its clients to search and rent books online. This new way of working would also reduce the need of people employment impacting the lives of those in this career path. In conclusion, digitalization is more than a trend. It is, in fact, a reality. Many libraries and book stores have already been affected and closed its doors such as Saraiva, in Brazil. Others are trying to adapt to this new scenario. The only certainty is that libraries will not remain operationg as they once had.