Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Examinations have always been a central part of the assessment for students at any level of professional course. In recent times they have become a very important topic of debate. I absolutely disagree that formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance.The impact on the mental health of students and this constant need to score more to be at the top is all but consuming. Students are not focused to learn and acquire knowledge but have been turned into machines who keep mugging up answers for good grades. The current education system with the formal examinations where students mug up stuff and write is very biased towards better memorization skills. This does not encourage or allow students to do any research on the topic, read the thesis or even experiment. With this constant need to get a better grade pointer, all they do is keep writing the same stuff, again and again, to mug it up. While in real-life job situations it would be their knowledge and subject understanding that will help get their work done. Hence formal examination system needs a rejig. Secondly, the formal examination systems only reward the top performers. For example, an exam where close to 1.5 million students appear for a 3-hour long test only conducted on a particular day decides the top 10k people and leave the rest 99% out. This leads to a lot of pressure on students to outperform each other leading to mental health and depression issues. This can be solved if we actually have continuous assessment wherein the day to day performance of an individual is judged. Hence, the tutors would also be able to provide constant feedback on improvement. This would lead to a more just and fair assessment. Hence this will not put an undue burden on students to perform on the very last day. Here they will get the motivation to get better each day.In conclusion, the formal examination system needs to be scrapped altogether and robust continuous assessment should be implemented.