In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first few months after the birth of their baby. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In many nations, maternity leave has gradually been considered an appropriate measure for the welfare of female employees. However, some people believe that this action has some drawbacks, while I think this measure is beneficial for mothers and their newborn babies. On the one hand, the maternity leave policy does have some negative impacts on companies. It is because the company needs to either get their colleagues to fill this position or hire new staff to ensure the daily operations are not impaired. However, it is hard to make the staffing adjustment. Meanwhile, the companies are required to offer paid maternity leave to new mothers. Although extensive cooperation can afford it, a smaller company with only a few workers cannot compete. Furthermore, it is a significant challenge regarding new mothers. To be precise, when mothers return to work, they will not be up-to-date with recent developments in the enterprises. Consequently, it may affect their careers to some extent. On the other hand, the advantages of leaves of absence from works temporarily due to childbirth are more critical and should be taken into consideration. First and foremost, this measure is beneficial to mental and physical health both for mothers and infants. Giving birth is considered a challenging moment that takes females many physical and emotional energies. Hence, women need adequate time to have a rest for recovering. Moreover, mothers who take extended leave are allowed to spend much quality time with their newborns, which positively impacts early child development. Specifically, a new baby does not have an excellent immune system. Therefore, breastfeeding is recommended as the best source of nutrition and hydration for babies. Hence, give birth leave is vital for new mothers. In conclusion, despite some demerits of this action, I believe pros are overshadowed cons.