Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often debated whether homework should be allotted to school -going students by their professors for completing it at home. In this essay, I shall present arguments both in favour and against this issue and thereafter, present my opinion on the same. At the outset, I shall go on to claim that homework is a crucial element for the holistic development of a student. On one end of the spectrum, people outside the academia ardently oppose the concept of homework on the ground that it adds unnecessary pressure on the child to work post the school hours. They also claim that it is the teachers' jobs to teach the students, and since they are paid hefty salaries and fees for it, they should not transfer their responsibilities to the parents by giving mandatory work for completing at home. Accordingly, it not only burdens the child, but also wears down the parents - who are already worn off from the day's chores or work. In essence, there is no real value that is added to the students ' repertoire, as they obtain maximum knowledge in a competitive and healthy environment of school only. On the other hand, academicians and scholars contend that homework is essential for developing the students ' knowledge and skills beyond the confines of their classroom. Notably, research has shown that the information absorbed at school can be permanently embedded in the children's mind if they revise it over and over again. In other words, since homework permits the children to skim through their days work again after losing touch for a couple of hours, they inevitably recall what was taught and understand the subject's finer nuances. For instance, there were many concepts in mathematics that I couldn't fully grasp in a class full of thirty classmates. Since many of them were excellent in studies, I was embarrased to ask silly doubts alongside their intelligent questions. It was then that homework came to my rescue. Naturally, while completing the tasks during self-study at home, I clarified all my queries and got a better hold over the subject. All in all, work designated by school teachers undoubtedly plays a profound role in refining the students ' understanding and knowledge-base of a particular subject. The child, not only revisits and revivifies the contents of his/her learnings, but the child also - in many cases - end up acquainting himself/herself with some new dimension or perspective about the area. Therefore, in view of the foregoing, I firmly support the idea of prescribing homework for students by their teachers.