Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child's education?

There is an ongoing interest in parents ’ attitudes towards their children’s study. Most teenagers receive little or no encouragement from their guardians in regard to their academic performance while others are pressured by over-enthusiastic parents, affecting them negatively. The questions now are why parents put too much tension on these youngsters to perform well in school and what their role should be in a child ’s education. To begin, one compelling reason I believe parents exert overwhelming pressure on their children is for a better future. That is, education is seen as a traditional pathway to a good job, high-paying and prestigious job. The guardians believe that children attaining academic excellence will be a gateway to a career prospect, leading to financial stability in future. These expectations spur a strict attitude towards their wards. For example, in the eastern and western parts of my country Nigeria. Most of the guardians if not all share similar perceptions. They remind every child of the necessity of education and their high expectations. In their own words, “We want you to have the opportunity that we never had”. This has haunted most of the students who often work hard under extreme pressure to meet their desires. This clearly is a strain on their emotional and physical well-being. However, the responsibility of a parent towards a child's education is ideally to provide guidance, encouragement and support, and not to stress them. To buttress this, parents should provide the resources required for convenient and efficient learning. They should pay the tuition, and purchase the materials, gadgets and tools to facilitate studies. When a child ’s performance falls backwards, a parent should encourage and guide him logically, void of tensions and pressures. This will make the child feel supported. For instance, a child who has challenges solving math problems in school will benefit more from the constant support from his family, including providing guidance in solving school homework, getting a home tutor to help him, buying mathematical gadgets and encouraging him. These will instil an excelling mindset and promote his learning. In conclusion, with the rise in educational globalization, the expectations of parents from teenagers are rapidly increasing, leaving a negative impact on them. Although this has been attributed to their genuine aim for a brighter future for their children, it is rather ideal for them to offer their support both emotionally and physically, as well as encourage and guide them accordingly.