Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While many authorities are of the opinion that the economy is an essential factor by which countries are able to develop. Others believe that there are other factors that play the same roles as the economy in a country's development. Personally, I think that all factors which are important should be goals. For a variety of reasons, the effects of economic progress have significant impacts on a country's economic growth. Firstly, when countries achieve high GDP, they would bring more benefits for citizens or society which means higher living standards, higher social benefits, more opportunities for workers. Secondly, governments have more available money if economic progress is achieved. Thus, governments could invest more in education,health and infrastructure such as roads, railways and so forth. For example, governments spend on education which helps more children or illiteracy to learn skills. Therefore, such an investment would cultivate more talented people who may be contributing to society in the future. However, we cannot ignore the importance of other types of progress for a country. First and foremost, national defence is one of the important parts of one country. To ensure safety for citizens is a duty for governments. If one country does not guarantee people's safety, people would feel anxiety. In the further, it would make all country get into messy because people tend to live in countries with a fair system. What is more? governments should ensure human rights. It is well documented that some countries have discrimination, especially for females, disabled people and children. Even though such groups live in a high economy, they do not feel happy. social equality and safety are also equally important for a country that should be reinforced by governments. All in all, although economic growth is a key role for countries to develop, other factors such as social issues are important as the economy. In my opinion, governments should consider more in all types which may influence on society dramatically.