Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. Discuss ways to solve the problem. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, gaining overweight is undoubtedly one of the most underminable and acute issues faced by any nation, especially developed countries; however, this can be recuperated if the governments impose extra taxes on fast food and promote awareness programmes. To begin with, consuming junk food is the major reason for obesity; nevertheless, levying additional tax charges on those could have an impact on the rate of consumption of instant meals. Even though healthy meals are readily available on market, they are considerably expensive when compared to fast food and, as a result, people have inevitably motivated to buy these unhealthy products. Therefore, imposing taxes on these would be the best and conspicuous solution for any country, especially rich countries where individuals have a larger budget for foodstuff consumption. This would lead to depriving people of purchasing expensive products and hence, less likely to having unhealthy-diet. For example, the Malaysian government has imposed a high tax on fizzy drinks which has increased the number of reluctant buyers of high carbonated drinks. Moreover, every government ought to cooperate so that awareness programmes are properly funded in order for the public is being perceived. Present-day persons are not aware that obesity is a repercussion of junk food and sometimes it is associated with leading causes of death such as diabetes, heart disease and strokes. Thus, they should be aware of these consequences by arranging public awareness campaigns throughout the country and further, broadcasting relevant programmes regarding them in order to educate people. For example, a recent article has shown that Brazil government had launched an education event for its people to have a clear understanding about overweighting repercussions and after educating men and women, within one year they could notice a 3% reduction of obese persons. To conclude, obese individuals are a severe problem in many nations as well as fortunate countries; however, this can be recovered by properly addressing and perceiving the public and levying high taxes would be far more adaptable solutions.