Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that all pupils in a class have different abilities and skills. Thus, a segment of society is convinced that children should be divided based on their academic abilities. Others, however, believe the opposite. The following paragraphs will discuss both opinions and explain why students with different academic performances can benefit more if they study together. On the one hand, streaming facilitates effective teaching of students on different levels and the development of students. To be more specific, if children are separated based on their academic performance, it is easier for teachers to provide tailored lessons. For instance, teachers can provide more advanced classes at a faster pace. As a result, gifted undergraduates do not waste time waiting for others to reach their level of knowledge. On the other hand, streaming benefits only talented pupils. Because children with low performance will be left behind and stigmatised. For example, adolescents studying in a gifted group will not become friends with someone from lower classes. As a result, he or she will take labelling as a life-long habit. Secondly, in mixed-ability classes, students with bad academic performance usually take gifted students as their role models and try to compete with them by studying hard and learning from them. If these pupils are separated, students in lower groups will not wish to challenge themselves. To conclude, in my opinion, the merits of mixed-ability classes outweigh the demerits. Because in a diverse environment students can always learn from each other, becoming better humans and professionals.