Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in Zoos. However, others believe that there are good reasons to have Zoos in the 21st century. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that wild creatures are not supposed to be held in zoos while others argue that there is enough reason for zoos to be necessary for this century. This essay would argue that despite zoos being able to allow viewers to gain insight into rare species, animals should not be kept in cages as it strips them of their freedom. On the one hand, visiting zoos gives people a chance to have a closer look at endangered animals and gain knowledge regarding their nature. Zoos contain a wide range of wild species that are not indigenous to the country it is situated in or those that are on the verge of extinction. Therefore, it enables people to know more about creatures that they have never seen before, giving them an idea on how to preserve certain endangered species and providing motivation to join the cause. In Sri Lanka, for instance, the black leopard has become a rare sight but there is one in the Dehiwala zoo where people can see it and the zoo takes donations for measures to repopulate its kind. However, I believe trapping them in cages is a violation of their right to freedom. On the other hand, caging any living creature is a cruelty that hinders their freedom and their very nature of being wild. Holding these creatures in zoos is similar to humans being in prison and just like humans being enclosed in cages causes them to become depressed and fall ill easily. For example, a majority of elephants in the Dehiwala zoo who had been there for over 10 years, had become depressed and physically weak and some had died due to suppressed immunity. Therefore, animals should be in their natural habitats free to be wild and roam around as they please. In conclusion, although zoos provide a view of wildlife and educate their visitors regarding endangered species, keeping them in zoos violates their right to be free.