In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies implement various ways to attract customers, especially by claiming that their products are new in order to gain people’s attention and curiosity. In my opinion, I contend that it can lead to a negative consequence because it can be seen as a lie and disappoint their customers. Companies will get more customers easily by claiming their items are new since people will be interested to buy new innovations as they believe those are unique and uncommon to be used. In this way, those companies will definitely earn more profits because their products become more recognizable and have a large number of buyers. For instance, food products in the U.S. often say that they are new and the only products in the world in order to attract people’s interest and excitement to try them, while they actually can be found anywhere. Thus, if those businesses do not claim that their products are new, they will have fewer buyers, which is why this strategy is effective for them. However, it can lead to a downside as those companies are dishonest about their products to obtain more money. Their customers will eventually realize that the items are not special and similar to other products, which results in dissatisfaction. One business in Indonesia, for example, got numerous complaints from their buyers as they felt disappointed about the products that are common and even offered lower qualities. As a result, they lost their faith to the company, which gave the company bad reputation, leading it to bankruptcy. To conclude, I consider the way of advertising products by claiming them as new things can be beneficial for businesses. Nevertheless, it needs to be considered more since it will just result in a negative outcome, such as losing loyal buyers, which leads to financial hardship