In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?(Advantages and disadvantages)

In some parts of the world, elders instruct youngsters they can attain any goal, only if they put in a significant amount of effort. At first, this may seem to be a piece of excellent advice, but upon careful analysis, one may find a few drawbacks too. Hard work has its own set of benefits, it not only draws out lethargy but also motivates an individual. Primarily, when children are told to be diligent, they develop a certain frame of mind, which restricts them from being dull. For example, when I was a child my parents used to make me read a lot, as I had poor spelling skills. Today, I can positively say that I have overcome this hurdle. Another notable point is that such children learn to remain motivated in the face of adversity. Being constantly fed with such instructions makes one focus on the larger perspectives in life. Such individuals rarely deter from their goals. Thus, one may find such views to be rewarding. In contrast, an excess of anything is abysmal. Often parents and elders go overboard with counselling and end up excessively burdening their wards. For instance, in India, if one wants to get admitted into a reputed university or college, then one must score well in competitive exams. This makes parents engage in a stream of strongly-worded warnings. Besides that, in certain cases, such words may do more harm than good. For instance, it would distress a dyslexic child who struggles with calculus. In such cases, rather than motivation, understanding an individual is imperative. To conclude, even though there are certain established benefits to being perseverant, one should also note that such a message may be catastrophic for a few youngsters