Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

In the present world, science has progressed a lot. Many researchers have been made on genes and chromosomes to identify the human trait. But, still there is a debate whether the human character is more influenced by his nature or his or her experience of a lifetime. In my opinion, lifetime experience has more impact than genes on human behaviour. Inherent trait influences the personality of any human being; it defines the outer personality or appearance of someone. For example, the newborn of a dwarf will also be a dwarf or kids have the same facial features. But it doesn’t define the character of that person. Yes, some people inherit even medical problems of their parents. The genes inherited are transferred from generation to generation but it only helped to shape the personality or exterior of the person. However, lifetime experiences have a greater effect on the personality of the individual. For example, I was an introverted person but when I joined the institute for doing my post-graduate in Banking and operation, I had to learn to communicate with people as that was part of my job and I started socializing with people and I started enjoying customer service interactions. So the experiences we get in life change our perspective and ultimately change our character. Therefore, I believe that innate characteristics can be altered as required by the surrounding environment. Moreover, the person progress depends upon his own hard work and dedication. In conclusion, inborn characteristics have an impact on a person ’s personality development. However, in my opinion, it has more on outlook and appearance of a person but lifetime situation has the impact to cope up with the problem we face in life.