Some people think city planners should create more green spaces and plant trees. Others believe that they should focus on building new houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We live in an ever-changing world; society is changing in significant ways. A clear example can be seen that people are shifting from rural to urban for their purposes of job or study and living. That’s why there is a decreasing number of trees in urban areas. So some citizens believe that urban planners should build more green spaces instead of building new houses. Before arriving at my opinion, both sides of the argument will be analyzed. Focusing on the first view, nowadays population, which are multiplying in the city areas. So housing is essential for their accommodation. Without enough homes, they can become homeless, leading to alcoholism, drugs, or slums that can develop, which can be detrimental to any country. Furthermore, the World Bank projections show that the world population is expected to grow at a steady rate and reach 9 billion people by 2050, and to accommodate this many people, space in cities will have to be widely used. On the contrary, a few others are of the opposite opinion is that seedlings or green areas create a peaceful living environment that promotes better living standards and better mental health. Heat in cities can be better controlled by having more saplings that filter the sun’s heat and offer shade. As a result, ultimately lowers the temperature in the city area. Additionally, trees produce oxygen which counteracts heavy pollution in cities and creates a better quality of life. To conclude and give my opinion, considering the arguments put forward in favour of both sides, I would argue that city planners should focus on green spaces and building houses.