Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is that it gives a person the opportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

Assisting others has always been the topmost priority of benevolent people. These people claim that being affluent is a blessing as it allows them to help the impoverished individuals. This essay will argue why helping others is the most important thing wealthy individuals should do. People regardless of their financial status have always been sceptical about their future. They are worried that one day they would lose all their wealth if they continue to provide monetary support to unprivileged citizens. And hold the view that they should rather invest their money and provide high quality education to their children. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of businessmen unfortunately ending up in poverty and are unable to pay their own hospital bills. Thus these few instances have instilled fear in some individuals and deters them from assisting others. Despite these minor uncertainties associated with helping others, the idea of not supporting them is completely inhuman. If affluent societies would not aid the low-income families then they would eventually die due to poverty. For example, in countries like Denmark, the fatality rate due to impoverishment is significantly low as the poor constantly receive assistance from the rich. Moreover, generosity creates gratitude which gives the benefactor a sense of fulfillment. Several studies have revealed that generous persons are able to live a more happy and contented life. Therefore, the well-to-do families should help the poor ones as it not only benefits the ill-fated citizens financially but also provides the givers with mental serenity. This essay argued that those who are against supporting others have a flawed understanding and they underestimate the power of benevolence.