An increasing number of people are changing careers during their working life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development for society?

Change is an inevitable part of life. Nowadays most people are moving their careers during work life. This is due to find self-satisfaction by following their passion while trying to gain high monetary value. Today I will discuss and explain its positive and negative impacts on society. To begin with, most people do not have an understanding of what they want to do in their life and they end up taking the wrong course at university. But later on, they decide to follow their passion to attain a sense of satisfaction. For instance, my cousin studied medicine at her university but realised her love for baking afterwards. So presently she owns a small cake shop. Secondly, a large group of people choose money over anything else. Hence to obtain more monetary value they switch jobs to get an increment or a promotion. To illustrate, I have currently switched my job from TD Bank to RBC Bank due to senior level position with double the hike in comparison to my latter pay. To explain it further, the positive side of switching careers is it brings a sense of achievement and fulfilment to an individual life and society. On the other hand, loyalty towards an employer is lost in this generation and they may have to retain employees if salaries are not market par. To sum it up, I would like to say that moving careers during their working life will bring new and improved skills to people but employers may suffer from losses in employee retention.