Some experts suppose that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Citizens of developed countries have innumerable ways to enjoy their life. While some people believe additional resources will add value to their already happy life, I think otherwise. Each additional dollar in a resident of a rich nation does not guarantee the chances of purchasing products that bring joy and pleasure to him. To begin with, after attaining a stable level of an economy, many residents may not feel delighted by seeing their country's advancement. This is because when a person satisfies his or her basic needs, the next level is to attain self-actualization. For this, they have to find something to make them content, for instance, doing charity works, helping the needy or contributing to the well-being of the disadvantaged. Therefore, they could find the purpose of their life and joy in their actions. Another reason here is the lack of personal relationships. In other words, when a nation assists its people, they rarely require support from their family and slowly and gradually blood relationships can be blemished. However, for example, during their younger age, they could chase all the luxuries and achievements but, it has been noticed that these people often end up in a depressive mood in their later years. Thus, by viewing all these, it is clear that the economic progress of a nation may not bring happiness to its residents. To conclude, extra padding of money to spend on things other than necessities of life will not increase a person’s satisfaction. Such an increase in happiness can be achieved through the fulfilment of jobs as well as family reunions.