The personal information of many individuals is held by large companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The use large companies can make of people's personal information is a matter of serious concern and should be treated accordingly. While there might be a few benefits to having sensible information on the market hands, it actually makes everyone a possible target of scam, fraud or manipulation. In my opinion, governments should set up strict laws to protect citizens from these hazards. Having personal data under the control of important companies can bring some benefits to people, especially in terms of comfort and life quality. For example, nowadays is common to have Facebook, Netflix and Amazon accounts linked along with banking access. In this way, it is easier to renew subscriptions, pay for extra services or buy items related to one's interests without even having to reach the credit card or wallet. In addition, the recommendation algorithms connecting those services save people ´s time by shortlisting products the system understands would be suitable for the user. Considering these actions, companies claim to use people's personal information only to provide the best possible service. Unfortunately, there are numerous concerns related to personal data management. Firstly, everything related to bank accounts and payment services. Evidence suggests that these days, computer fraud and online scams skyrocketed police records, being the most common crime in many developed countries. Secondly, the so-loved recommendation algorithms that appear to be mind-readers of consumers, are known for promoting addictive behaviours, sleeping disorders and manipulate users to feel they need products that are actually not necessary. Experts all over the world are claiming for the governments to strengthen the laws concerning private information management as it is being used against individuals. To sum up, although there might exist a few advantages in the access companies have to people's personal information, the cost of it is becoming incredibly high and the consequences could be devastating. Governments should follow expert´s advice and not only raise awareness among civilians but also increase control over the companies and organizations.