In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, as the world is growing so is technology. The digital payment development trend has spread like fire in many countries. This development has both benefits as well as drawbacks. On the one hand, cell phones are the most integral part of everybody's life. It has made everyone's life convenient, and easy. To illustrate this, now people do not have to carry cash, and even they would not have to worry about robbers around the streets. They do not have to stand in long queues to get their passbook updated. Instead, Humans can see the transactions they have done in past anytime, and anywhere in the world. Mankind can travel to any part of the world without getting currency changed. They can directly pay to any merchant or any individual via digital payment applications. Merchants give assured cashback to promote digital transactions. On the other hand, there is a huge risk of cyber-attacks while using payment applications. As, the internet is required to process the transaction, and there are less layers of security and verification as compared to the transactions done on the point-of-sale terminal. Some apps even save the card information and it can easily be accessible to hackers. Data breaches and privacy leaks are the main concerns of online payments. Although, the bank sent you an OTP usually by text or e-mail registered with the bank before the transaction is processed to verify the identity but there are chances of fraud when somebody else other than the owner has access to them. Nobody should share his/her card details with anyone over the phone or in person. To conclude this, digital payments even though are feasible and accessible to everyone but monetary scams and frauds may certainly outweigh the pros of using a cellphone for transactions.