Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different opinions on what will be better for children's education: studying local or foreign literature and history. Although I agree that it is beneficial for young people to know the national written works and events that took place in their country, I also find advantages in the opposite point of view. On the one hand, children need to be aware of their country and culture, because it may help to unite the nation and preserve values. If people know about their history, they will probably be proud of their country, which in turn will lead to the growth of patriotism and nation cohesion. Moreover, in order to save the native culture and tradition, it is very important to read the books of domestic writers. Thus, teaching children about their native history and literature can have a positive impact on their country and on themselves. On the other hand, study of foreign history and literature may facilitate to broad the horizons of children, as well as improve the level of education. It is likely that reading books about other countries can expand people`s knowledge and understanding of the world. Besides, the better children will be educated, the more benefit they may bring to their country. If the government includes foreign literature and history in the educational program, it will likely cause to amazing results. Therefore, such subjects from other countries are a good way for the children `s development and for their country also. In conclusion, literature and history are valuable subjects for educating people. In my opinion, they, both local and foreign, should be taught to children, because of their equal significance for improvement.