Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is commonly believed that the loss of specific species of plants and animals plays a fundamental role in most environmental issues. Others think that there are other main pressing concerns. In my opinion, losing some animal and plant species can have an influence on the environment, but there are other dramatic issues such as air and noise pollution. On the one hand, those who opine that the loss of species is the most important environmental issue express that it has far-reaching consequences that are not always immediately apparent. Biodiversity plays an important role on the planet. Furthermore, animals and plants can help the ecosystem, and the disappearance of only one species can destroy an entire ecosystem. For instance, if the number of bees plummets, some species of flowers which should be pollinating, will not exist anymore and as a result, the agricultural sector will suffer. Moreover, the loss of some types of plants will affect human health, as many drugs are derived from plants. On the other hand, those who argue that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is not that important might point to issues such as climate and pollution concerns. Air and noise pollution might have a direct impact on human life. For example, studies have shown that pollution can cause health problems like cancer or breathing issues. Additionally, water pollution from various sources has a detrimental effect on the entire ecosystem endangering the health and well-being of both humans and wildlife. In conclusion, while one of the main environmental problems nowadays is the loss of particular species, I firmly believe that pollution is an undeniable concern. By addressing environmental challenges effectively, we can ensure a sustainable and healthy planet for all living creatures.