Some people say that due to the growing number of unfit and overweight people sport should be made compulsory in all educational establishments. Others claim that only voluntary decision to do sport helps people to be fit, but compulsory physical education embarrasses and turns away students who don't like sport. Give your opinion and support it with relevant examples.

Currently, some people believe that in order to solve the overweight problem, it is necessary to make sport obligatory in all educational institutions, while others advocate that a person have freedom of choice. In my opinion, both statements are right in their own way, and they should be considered separately before making any conclusion. On the one hand, sport is a great way to combat obesity. More and more young people suffer from excess weight, which in turn can lead to serious health problems. For instance, I learned from some scientific sites that it can lead to cardiovascular, respiratory and many other diseases. It is quite possible that while doing physical education at school, students will develop a useful habit of going in for sports. This can be helpful for them in adulthood and reduce the risk of getting diseases. Therefore, if sport is included in the educational program as a compulsory subject, it will probably contribute to the improvement of student`s health. On the other hand, each person has his own individual interests and mandatory sports can only alienate him. Some people argue that forced training cannot guarantee good results. They explain this by the fact that a person may lose motivation, if he has to do something for a long time that he does not want. Besides, there are alternative ways, which can be beneficial in dealing with overweight. For example, even though a student is not very fond of sport, he can walk to school or ride a bike, which is already good physical activity. Thus, the sport should only be a voluntary choice left by the students. Taking everything into consideration, though sport plays a significant role in people's life, I think that it should not be imposed on students. There are many different methods to lead an active lifestyle and first it should be a person's own choice.