More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, some families do not want to have children. Some people say that this is because of egoistic purposes. Whereas, others hold the opinion that this is due to their worry about overcrowding and wish for a free lifestyle. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. Nowadays, some families are leading a “child-free” lifestyle for several reasons. First, they have a very busy lifestyle as the world is rapidly changing. They spend most of their time at the workplace as the result they consider themselves not being able to nurture offspring. Second, they prefer to entertain themselves by being around friends, visiting some enjoyable places where they can enjoy themselves. Having children limit this way of life since bringing up kids is a great responsibility. For example, Italy has faced the problem of low birthrate consequently the number of populations is decreasing. Today overpopulation is a global problem that can be destructing for humanity. So, some couples feel responsible for the planet. If there are too many people on the planet nature may suffer as human activity leads to the extinction of some animal species as the result of disappearing of their habitat. For instance, in some Asian countries, the problem of overcrowding causes a high rate of crime and poverty. If so, maybe they are doing the right thing to prevent human beings from the risk of extinction? To sum up, it is difficult to imagine life without children as in our mentality they play the most important role and they are the purpose of living. In some countries, though there must be some law restrictions on the number of kids in the families.