Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When it comes to the question that whether advertising makes people alike but enable people to buy the same products and look the same, some people argue that this is true. However, in my view, I think advertisements do not make people become the same. To begin with, the function of advertisements helps people become different. It is commonly acknowledged that people like to choose what they need when shopping.When the advertisers decide to put advertisements, they will focus on the good features of their products to meet customers demands. Under such a condition, the customers might purchase the goods which feature attract them and become different. In addition, different goals of different advertisements do not make people become similar. Most of the advertisements have their targeted customers such as the dress advertisement attracts women, the toy advertisement attracts children, the medical advertisement attracts patience. Therefore, advertisements fail to make people become the same because they appeal to different kinds of people with different productions. Admittedly, the advertisement showed by superstars engenders positive impacts on the diversity of people's lifestyles. When people watch the advertisement spotted by their best idol, they will purchase the goods without thinking about whether it is useful to them. Therefore, people will lose their personalities and become no features. However, I need to point that different people have a different appreciations for stars, so they are likely to buy different goods to support their idols. In general, despite the negative effects advertising brought by on people's differences, the benefits of the diversity of people are more obvious.