In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that people have the freedom to choose what to wear. Although every nation has its own traditional clothing and designs, individuals mostly wear Western-style dress nowadays. I think this is a positive development as a result of growing western influence and the fashion industry. Many different ways can make a massive impact on people's attitudes when selecting clothes. For example, in movies, primarily celebrities wear clothing related to western culture, which is highly attractive. As a result, people worldwide tend to imitate them and start wearing them the same way. Furthermore, these clothes ' availability and low cost play a vital role in getting popular globally. For instance, anyone can visit the Amazon website and find a deluge of knock-down deals on the USA or UK-based garments. When people find clothing as they wish and for a low cost, they are seemingly happy. Besides, the fast-growing fashion industry in western countries has boosted the popularity of western clothes worldwide. As there is no monopoly in this field, and with a lot of competition between fashion designers, every day, new clothing styles are emerging, whereas traditional styles in some countries have very little change. Therefore, as people like to be fashionable, the demand is increasing rapidly. In Colombo, a good case is that all-male employees can be seen in a two-piece or three-piece suit and women in jeans and blouses during office hours. When people wear fashionable clothes, they feel confident. So this is also positive for society. In conclusion, even though there is cultural-based clothing, western-style dress has become common because of its significant influence and different fashion. However, people need to achieve a balance on clothes between their own culture and the western culture.