Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

Athlete and team names have always been associated with international brands as part of marketing strategies. This relationship has been proven successful for both parties. I believe that the financial benefits of the collaboration between the two groups outweigh the overall disadvantages. Watches, automobiles and consumer goods companies are a multi-billion industry and using athletic figures and teams to advertise their name has multiple benefits. First and foremost, is the financial rewards of such a partnership. This sum of money is usually used to pay for the athletes' salaries, and cover their cost of travel and fees to attend national and international competitions. Also, the teams can use the income to improve their training and physical rehabilitation facilities. For this reason, I believe that financial rewards are vital to provide the means for athletes and their teams to grow. However, while the advantages are undeniable there are a few drawbacks that should be considered. First of all, associating sportsmanship with corporate greed and capitalism. For instance, most sportswear brands are implicated in breaches of human rights and child labour. Athletes might lose focus and become obsessed with money or pleasing public opinion. For example, Nymar is a talented football player but given his fame, his income from advertisement exceeded that from playing professional football. As a result, he became lazy in the field and lost his enthusiasm to play for a team. In conclusion, I believe that the financial rewards from athletic brand sponsorship outweigh the possible drawbacks for sportsmen and sportswomen.