In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has become far more normal for people to live alone, particularly in developed regions of the world. From my perspective, this trend could have both positive and negative effects in equal measure. On the one hand, living alone could bring many benefits to the individual as well as the economy. On the individual level, those who live alone might become more independent and self-reliant than those who stay with family members. Young adults who own the property for themselves, for example, will need to learn how to cook, pay bills, do chores, and manage their budget, all of which are essential life skills. Therefore, the increase in the number of independent homeowners would certainly be a positive development. In terms of the economy, the trend of living alone might result in greater demand for housing. This is likely to benefit the construction industry, real estate agencies, and a whole host of other services that rely on people to purchase houses and apartments. On the other hand, the arguments above can be considered from the opposite point of view. To begin with, rather than the feeling of freedom and peace, those who live alone might suffer from loneliness, isolation, and in the worst case, depression. They miss out on the emotional support from family members or roommates and must bear the weight of household bills and responsibilities all by themselves. From the financial perspective, a rise in demand for houses is likely to push up property and rental prices. While construction companies and real estate agents would undoubtedly benefit from this trend, the majority of the population would have detrimental consequences. In conclusion, choosing to live alone is a popular trend in big cities these days because its benefits are undeniable. However, society should not neglect the potential consequences that this trend would bring.