Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal informations such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree.

Managers tend to ask people attending the interviews for personal details about them, such as what they are interested in doing in their leisure time, and what their status is. Some companies find this information coming to their benefit somehow. On the other hand, some people think it is not useful. In this essay, I am going to discuss both points of view and give my opinion. First of all, I can see why the interviewer might think the question about the person applying for the job is a necessary thing. It is useful to know if their interests are somehow connected to the job so the company can benefit from the employee. Let's say that the employee is looking to be a reporter, they can be interested in knowing the news about the influencers, celebrities or famous people. The company would be delighted to know that and the chance of them getting the job would be higher. The status of their personal life and whether they are married or single determine their availability in my opinion, if they are single the chance of them being fully available is higher than the married one may be in the eye of the managers. Secondly, some people might disagree for some reasons. Most importantly, some companies will tell you what they are looking for in the worker, they are not interested if you are single or taken, if your interests do not meet theirs because at the end of the day, they want you to do the work they assigned you for and you will be paid and that is it, they do not want to know specific details about your life. In conclusion, I can relate more to companies wanting to know more about the person they want to work with, so they can work together smoothly, the environment will be much more fun if both sides have some similar interests, they can develop friendships in addition to that if they are in the same status.