“Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An effective school curriculum has always been an area of contention around the world. A segment of society is convinced that extra-curricular activities can have a conducive effect on children. I fully agree with this opinion, because these activities can improve social skills and physical condition, help to cope with stress. The following paragraphs will explain my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, extra-curricular activities such as community service and physical exercises are beneficial for students on many levels. First of all, doing physical training every day may help to develop the habit of doing morning exercises. In the long term, children will be mentally and physically healthy individuals. Secondly, community-service activities make children more sociable, they learn how to help others and become valuable members of society. For example, students can clean streets or help the elderly to do shopping. There are many types of extra activities for students. I believe that adolescents should choose them for themselves based on their interests and hobbies. Some pupils prefer arts, while others like doing manual work helping others. With proper management and approach children may efficiently spend their time keeping themselves busy with beneficial activities, rather than slouching in front of the TV after school. Moreover, doing something that adolescents enjoy, may help them to cope with stress at school and home. To conclude, I believe that extra-curricular activities benefit students and society. However, children should be given a choice of what they would like to do in their free time.