In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people lived in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

There was a time when people lived in small towns and was friends with every individual, however in order to mend money and living which they consider a better lifestyle move to the major cities,where they only know a handful of people. Life in small towns has some merits and demerits which I will explain briefly in the following paragraph. To begin with, the main advantage that small villages offer is the opportunity for financial growth. It is said if someone wishes to save money they should move to a small village as living in the city is expensive and saving money is next to impossible. For example,the average US cost of living index is 100,with its population of 16000 in a major city like Washington it has an index of 106 whereas compared to a small town like Chicago where the index comes down to 86. Secondly, since everyone is friends with everyone else,the crime rate in a small village is relatively low in comparison to a large community. On the other hand,there are some drawbacks that may not be alleviated, such as fewer employment opportunities. The necessity of purchasing a car as the small village may not offer public transport and increased airfare, due to the presence of one municipal airport airfare will be considered high in such towns. In conclusion, pros such as financial management and curbed crime rates make life in small-town worthy,, however one can not ignore the demerits like unemployment and increased fuel and airport rates. therefore it is necessary to scrutinize every aspect before moving in or out of a small town.