Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, many believe that watching television has been the favourite pastime of large groups of the population. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why I think many people use their spare time watching television, how it can make them lethargic, and how it strains social relationships. Many individuals watch television during their free time because of the engaging content showcased on various channels. For example, adults love soap operas and the news, and children enjoy watching cartoon shows. Such content releases dopamine in the brains of its viewers instantly, and they eventually become addicted, not realizing how much time they are wasting watching television. In addition, unlike the effort required to engage in hobbies such as knitting or playing hockey, watching television does not require a lot of effort. For instance, one might have to use physical effort to play basketball or make use of their mental abilities to read a book. On the contrary, watching television requires them to sit and look at a screen, without having to move or think. This monotonous task is what makes viewers lazy. When individuals increase their screen time, they might neglect other tasks, such as house chores or studying. They might become lethargic to the extent that they will not get off their couch. They might isolate themselves so that their television time is not interrupted by a loved one telling them to take a break. Such long hours of isolation could eventually affect their communication skills, which are required in social settings. These issues could affect their physical and mental health, and they could face health complications such as obesity, depression, and anxiety. In a nutshell, many individuals spend a lot of their spare time watching television, and it makes them lazy and less social. I would recommend such individuals to engage in hobbies that involve the use of physical or mental abilities, as this is a healthier way to spend their free time.