Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is supposed by some people that international news should become a field of study at school, whereas, others oppose the same, and consider that studying it will potentially be a wastage of time. However, I am an advocate of the opinion that in this contemporary epoch of globalization such vital subjects should be read by pupils in order to keep themselves at par with the outside world. Firstly, studying international news at an early age enables them to understand the culture of various nations. For example, at my office, most of my colleagues are based at UK. We only have virtual interactions with each other, nevertheless, I still could connect with them well,mainly due to the fact that I am aware about well-known places at London and their cuisines. Hence, this provides me with an upper-hand at work, and I could deliver my work seamlessly. Therefore, my own viewpoint is that communications become easier if we know each other well and one of the ways to achieve that is through reading global journals. Secondly, vital information pertaining to the field of study can be obtained by reading international news. For instance, my sister went to USA in order to pursue her master degree in the field of medicine. Moreover, the university that she attended is one of the eminent institutions. Besides that, she read about the same in an editorial during her school days. Thus, she got motivated and had worked hard in her career to be a part of this prestigious college. Henceforth, I support the view of studying worldwide news, as it encourages the young boys and girls to work hard as well as climb up the ladder of success. To conclude, there are contradictory views about studying international news, some consider that it should be a part of syllabus, while, others are against it. Nonetheless, I strongly agree that it should be a part of the academic curriculum of children because it facilitates people to learn about other nations as well as guides them during their higher studies.