The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It’s no doubt that in the last centuries the world’s population has grown massively, to the point that most people believe that this is the biggest problem that humans have to face today. There are multiple causes behind the increase of the population, such as the better conditions in which we live nowadays and the progress made through technology, and I agree that this is the most serious issue we are facing and that we should worry about trying to fix it. The overpopulation is mostly due to two factors: the advances we’ve had in technology and, generally, the better conditions we are living in. Firstly, new technologies have made the development of medical care easier, which means that even having kids right now is not that big of a problem as it was before, so people are motivated to have more than one child, as it is not seen as a threat anymore. Furthermore, the economy has grown and people have the possibility to take care of their children without fear; in most cases, money doesn’t represent an obstacle, so having more children is almost ideal. In my opinion, this is the most significant complication that we have in today’s society. Sure, there are other problems like climate change, but the increase in people is not under control anymore and it’s become evident that the Earth doesn’t have the resources for us all, leading us to consume these resources earlier each year. That means that we are leading the world we live into a steady death. To sum up, it is undeniable that we are experiencing an increase in people and it’s because of this that I think we should focus on overpopulation and treat it as the biggest threat humanity is facing.