Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Self-discovery is a complicated process. I argue that nurture factors, for example, life experience, have a larger influence in terms of an individual’s personality and development, compared with nature characteristics. A person’s personality changes with time. This development is contributed by different life experiences a person has. For example, an individual who might lack encouragement to socialise with others would become more confident and out-going after a solo travel. This is because when an individual steps out of his familiar area, he would encounter numerous challenges. While the process of resolving those difficulties continues, a person’s personality would relatively develop as well. In fact, the characteristics we are born with only represent a limited proportion of our personality. Even though we are unable to manipulate it, we can learn how to use it flexibly and adapt to different environments. In this perspective, different experiences provided by various situations become a valuable resource to further develop our personality. For example, a disabled person could play basketball after a well-planned training. A person without a physical gift may have talent in artistic-related areas. I personally believe that what motivates people to solve problems is not the features they born with, but rather is the encouragement he or she receive from the environment. In conclusion, I personally would claim that life experience has more essential impacts on our personality development. This is because people can develop their uniqueness along with time. In addition, people also have the ability to adapt their natural characters under different environments.