Some people believe that rich countries should provide poorer countries with other types of help rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past decades, affluent countries have allocated countless finance to support deprived countries. Some people suggest that now the focus should be shifted to other forms of support. I totally agree with this statement as I believe financial aid cannot address all issues in those developing countries. This essay will explain the drawbacks of financial aid and what other supports can make differences on countries ’ development. Many developing countries now need more than just funds to achieve further development. Many other essential issues have been emerging, which have become priority concerns. For example, some countries are struggling in a shortage of labour supply as the population of elderly increases dramatically. Assisting these countries with finance is not as effective as the support of sufficient human resources. Another example includes that money may not be the desirable solution if countries need technologies to develop manufacturing sector. With a technical support from experienced countries, recipient countries may develop their industries sustainably in the future. The dependence on finance may make poor countries experience hardships when the support is terminated. Although in a short term, the national revenue will increase if these countries receive financial investment, many domestic businesses will lose motivation to create higher profits. Once the international capital is withdrawn from rich countries, the local economy will be expected to recess. By contrast, educating local businesses how to earn a higher profit by experiences from rich countries can make these countries more independent. Thus, given the potential negative impact from finance support, other types of assistance should be considered. In conclusion, finance cannot address all vital issues facing to these beneficiary countries and other forms of support should be considered to achieve a sustainable development in a long run.