In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Watching TV dramas and reading novels are two entertaining activities that people tend to do in their leisure time. Among a variety of genres at hand, crime novels and dramas have been more prevalent among many people and favoured over others. I believe the promotion of crime series and fiction will have an adverse effect on the society we live in. Many people are deeply interested in stories that involve mysterious aspects and enjoy being puzzled. In essence, they want to participate in the flow of the story and predict what happens next. They find it appealing to solve the mystery or probably guess who the perpetrator is. Imagine a murder with an attractive plot that people imagine themselves in the detective’s role, so they pay careful attention to all the clues and evidence so that they succeed in speculating the criminal who has done the murder or even forecasting what happens in the upcoming episodes or chapters. As far as I can see, getting exposed to such violence and cruelty in movies and books will have unpleasant implications on our society. On the one hand, such objectionable content ruins adult’s and children’s peace of mind and puts their mental health at risk and on the other hand, violent content absolutely has a super negative effect on our kids’ mentality and mindset. Some children might get petrified and avoid social activities because of being scared of threats and criminals, while others might learn from the stories and try to imitate the perpetrators and even worse, become criminals themselves. In brief, crime fiction and dramas are becoming more popular than ever in many countries and that's because the audience like the mysterious and unpredictable nature of this genre. While reading or watching such books or movies seem appealing to many people, they definitely influence people ’s mental health negatively and are likely to put our children’s future at risk.