The increase in tourism has led to the destruction of the environment, thus tourism ought to be banned in certain areas. What is your opinion?

In contemporary times, the number of tourists visiting nature has dramatically increased. This lead to an apprehension that an unregulated intrusion into the nature has destroyed the environment, subsequently, this garnered the opinions of environmentalists that tourism should be banned in certain places. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I will substantiate my views. To begin with, nowadays, tourism contributes to a major share of income for many states. This led the governments to promote unrestricted travel especially into forests and hill stations. However, it showed detrimental effects on the local heritage. This is because, a robust infrastructure like roads and resorts need to be developed to attract travellers and this comes at the expense of trees present. Moreover, deforestation results in loss of habitat for numerous animals. For example, percentage of forest cover in the Western ghats plummeted after the local authorities started developing and promoting them as a special attraction to improve the revenue. Thus, it is clearly evident that desire to explore green spaces proves detrimental. On the other hand, pollution is one of the major concerns. Numerous water bodies face the brunt of this. This is because of the fact that numerous rivers get polluted with fuel deposits, human wastes and plastic due to aqua tourism. For instance, house boating in Kerala led to contamination of its backwaters owing to the usage of diesel boats and extravagant facilities incorporated for the tourists. Hence, it is conspicuous that natural resources are polluted. To conclude, harmony in nature is imperative for a peaceful living. Therefore, tourism which disturbs the balance in the ecosystem must be banned in sensitive areas.