Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some individuals that helping scholars to obtain a good occupation is the prime objective of institute teaching, while others argued that the scope of the university curriculum is much broader than just gaining a job and very beneficial for the community as well for the person itself. In my opinion, it is true that education develops the person as a whole and which ultimately helps in upliftment of the society. However, this essay will explore both aspects of this discussion. On the one hand, a certain group of people believe that the ultimate goal of higher education is to help graduates to acquire suitable employment. It is irrefutable to say that an institutional degree increases the chances of an individual to secure the right job. These days companies are looking for suitable candidates with higher degrees. For instance, a job advertisement from a management company clearly indicates that only graduates with MBA degrees are eligible for this post. In this way, having higher literacy ensures the desired employment. On the other hand, I shall argue that Institutional teaching prepares the pupils not only for the jobs but also inculcate several behavioural changes in an individual to make them responsible citizens. For example, A report by the Economic Survey of India, 2019, showed that the areas where the literacy rate is higher are more developed in terms of social and economic factors. In addition, very few crimes were reported in those areas and ranked tops places in terms of cleanliness. In conclusion, many believe that higher studies have a limited objective for students, that is to prepare them for getting a job, while others argued that scope is much wider and inculcate a holistic development in an individual. In my view, University education offers many benefits to the individual and society. It helps people to broaden their horizons of grasping things and making them responsible citizens. Ultimately, well educated human beings do several things to uplift their community.