Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the past years, there has been a decrease in usage of specific languages, therefore some are not being used anymore. It is partially thought that it is not a big issue as life will get more simple if less jargon is spoken. This essay agrees with this statement because people will have simplified communication, in addition to the fact that students will have more time for other activities rather than studying a new language. Firstly, having a lower quantity of dialects available in the world leads to the community being able to study better just those few ones. Therefore a more accessible communication will be provided to the public. To put it in other words, through languages like English, Chinese or Spanish, the world's population will be able to share ideas, thoughts, or even comment on social media platforms. For example, if only English was to be spoken in the vast majority of countries and universities degrees were undertaken in English, in most students that decide to get a masters degree in the UK, the IELTS exam will not be needed anymore. Additionally, in different schools in most countries, pupils nowadays need to study another language besides the one they speak in their homes. By having fewer languages, students will be able to spend more moments in fun activities or even gain more knowledge in other main subjects such as mathematics or arts, rather than having to spend an extreme amount of time studying a new language that maybe will not exist anymore in the future. For instance, in Singapore, the government saw an improvement in pupils results as they focused only on scientific subjects, rather than having to study two or more languages. To conclude, I believe that the fact that many languages are not being used anymore is a beneficial aspect of modern days as it t makes communication easier and allows families to spend terms in leisure activities or expand their knowledge in other fields.