Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some may argue that the amount of choices we are forced to make nowadays is excessive. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view that today, more than ever, we are presented with an abundant number of choices in life. From minor daily activities such as shopping at the grocery store to making more crucial choices as in which university to apply to, we are constantly offered goods and services that aim to convince us to pick them instead of the existing alternatives. Large supermarkets delineate this situation excellently. Upon walking into the corridors of each section of a supermarket, one faces many rows of products placed with great meticulousness to attract attention. In order to choose, let’s say, the right brand of cookies, the customer needs to examine numerous cookie brands and compare various factors such as price and quality to come to a decision to buy one. Also, a global rise to individualism has caused people to want to be more distinct and distinguished as compared to those around them. Consequently, expressing one’s uniqueness and individuality has become more vital than before. Therefore, what our choices have become of more importance as businesses thrive on the desire to be more unique and one of a kind. Our choices are no longer just about consumption or receiving a service, they could also portray prestige and esteem in society. To summarize, I think that living in contemporary times requires us to make significantly more choices than in the past. This is because to the rise of individualism as well as capitalism in our globalized world. The decisions we make mean revenue for businesses, therefore, we are constantly presented with alluring offers to make their product or service our choice.